Spark Grant

The Spark Grant supports applied research and innovation in its initial stages, enabling the development of new research questions, experimentation with new methods, theoretical approaches and/or innovative ideas. This Grant focuses on field-of-play innovation in its initial stages for immediate performance outcomes. 

Funding Available: Up to $35,000 per project per annum

Project Duration: Up to one-year

Eligible Researcher(s)

  • NSO and/or COPSIN researchers
  • Student support not eligible

Eligible Research & Innovation Themes

  • Psychology & Athlete/Coach Well-Being
  • Training Sciences: Physiology, Nutrition, Strength & Conditioning
  • Sport Technology & Engineering
  • Injury Care & Sport Medicine
  • Biomechanics
  • Motor Learning & Skill Acquisition
  • Data Sciences & Statistics

Submission Deadline

  • March 1st (annually) 
  • Assessed by Own the Podium

Year-End Reporting: March 15th (annually)

Application Checklist: 

  • Select the appropriate application for which you will apply (Spark, Accelerate, Technovate)
  • For Accelerate and Technovate grants, a student(s) has been secured to undertake the research
  • Prepare a Gantt chart with clear milestones that can be gauged to track progress
  • Prepare a detailed budget with total budget income and total budget costs
  • Download Project Rationale Form and complete with a description of the proposed research (the Project Rationale Form provides opportunity to collaborate with your research team before application submission)
  • Use the “APPLY NOW” button.   Fill in the application online and attach your Project Rationale Form. 


Spark Grant


Frequently Asked Questions

The criteria for assessment will focus primarily on NSO readiness to engage in research or innovation in the DTE/CE. The grant supports performance enhancement strategies or improvements in best practices in the DTE/CE. Project implementation plans will also be assessed to ensure full achievement of goals. OTP maintains a top-down approach and prioritize targeted sports.

There will be several application windows throughout the year to review submissions. These windows will also include applications received from NSOs as part of the Sport Review process. Applications will be submitted using a standard application form focusing on project goals, performance impact, and implementation plans. OTP will assess the applications internally through a Review Panel and work collaboratively with NSOs and partners to achieve project goals.

A NSO can apply for more than one Spark Grant but the application should be in different areas of inquiry related to performance. For example, a project could focus on nutrition and another one related to sport psychology. The Grant is capped at a specific amount and the project scope should be manageable within a year. Multiple grants would require adequate supervision from the NSO.

Yes. The intent of the Spark Grant is to initiate a project with funding and facilitate project growth towards more in-depth research or innovation. Transitioning to a Mitacs is not automatic and each project supported by a Spark grant will be evaluated by a separate Review Panel before being accepted for a Technovate or Accelerate grant.

The NSO (example IST lead or HPD) is responsible for the application submission. It is expected that project deliverables can be integrated into the DTE/CE as required. The NSO assumes accountability for the project but may partner with COPSIN partner to achieve project deliverables. 
CPC logo
Canadian Olympics Committee Logo
Own The Podium Logo
Sport Institute Network Logo
Mitacs Logo
Government of Canada Logo

Subvention Spark

La subvention Spark appuie la recherche appliquée et l’innovation à ses tous premiers stades, permettant l’élaboration de nouvelles questions de recherche, l’expérimentation de nouvelles méthodes, des approches théoriques et/ou des idées innovantes. Cette subvention est orientée sur l’innovation précoce sur le terrain de jeu, menant à des résultats de performance immédiats.

Financement disponible : Jusqu’à 35 000 $ par projet par année

Durée du projet : jusqu’à un an

Chercheurs et chercheuses admissibles

  • Chercheurs ou chercheuses des ONS et/ou du RISOP
  • Le soutien d’étudiants n’est pas admissible 

Thèmes de recherche et d’innovation admissibles

  • Psychologie et bien-être des athlètes/entraîneurs
  • Sciences de l’entraînement : physiologie, nutrition, préparation physique
  • Technologie et ingénierie du sport
  • Soins des blessures et médecine sportive
  • Biomécanique
  • Apprentissage moteur et acquisition d’automatismes
  • Sciences des données et statistiques

Date limite pour les demandes

  • Le 1er mars (à tous les ans)
  • Évaluées par À nous le podium

Rapports annuels de fin d’exercice : dus le 15 mars

Liste de contrôle pour la demande :

  • Choisir la subvention qui convient le mieux à votre demande (Spark, Accelerate, Technovate)
  • Pour les subventions Accelerate et Technovate, un•e étudiant•e (ou des étudiants) sont disponibles pour effectuer la recherche
  • Préparer un diagramme de Gantt qui modélise la réalisation du projet à l’aide de tâches clairement établies
  • Préparer un budget détaillé incluant les revenus et coûts totaux budgétés
  • Télécharger le formulaire de justification du projet et compléter en décrivant la recherche proposée
  • Utiliser le bouton « FAIRE UNE DEMANDE ». Remplir la demande en ligne et y joindre votre Formulaire de justification du projet.


Subvention Spark


Foire Aux Questions

Les critères d’évaluation sont principalement axés sur l’état de préparation de l’ONS à s’engager dans la recherche ou l’innovation dans son EEQ ou EC. La subvention appuie les stratégies d’amélioration de la performance ou l’amélioration des meilleures pratiques dans le cadre de l’EEC/EC. Les plans de mise en œuvre du projet seront aussi évalués pour assurer la réalisation complète des objectifs. ANP maintient une approche descendante et donne la priorité aux sports ciblés.

Il y aura plusieurs fenêtres pour postuler et les demandes seront examinées tout au long de l’année. Ces fenêtres de demande incluent aussi les demandes reçues dans le cadre du processus d’évaluation des ONS. Les demandes seront soumises à l’aide d’un formulaire de demande standard axé sur les objectifs du projet, l’impact sur la performance et les plans de mise en œuvre. ANP évaluera les demandes à l’interne par l’entremise d’un panel d’évaluation et collaborera avec les ONS et nos partenaires pour atteindre les objectifs du projet. 

Oui, un ONS peut faire plus d’une demande de subvention Spark mais chaque demande doit rejoindre différents thèmes de recherche liés à la performance. Par exemple, un projet peut être axé sur la nutrition et un autre sur la psychologie du sport. La subvention est plafonnée à un certain montant et la portée du projet doit être raisonnablement atteignable dans le cadre d’une année. De multiples subventions exigeraient une bonne supervision de la part de l’ONS.

Oui. L’intention de la subvention Spark est d’initier le financement d’un projet et faciliter la croissance du projet vers une recherche ou innovation plus approfondie. La transition vers Mitacs ne se fait pas automatiquement et chaque projet appuyé par une subvention Spark sera évalué par un panel d’évaluation distinct avant d’être approuvé pour une subvention Technovate ou Accelerate.

L’ONS (par exemple le responsable de l’ÉSI ou le•la DHP) est responsable de la soumission de la demande. Il est attendu que les résultats du projet puissent être intégrés à l’EEC/EC, au besoin. L’ONS assume la responsabilité du projet mais peut s’associer avec un partenaire du RISOP pour atteindre les résultats visés.
CPC logo
Canadian Olympics Committee Logo
Own The Podium Logo
Sport Institute Network Logo
Mitacs Logo
Government of Canada Logo